Later the Nizamshahi Sultan Burhan Khan demolished the wooden fortification and replaced it with a solid stone construction. This was in 1538. Forty feet high and around fifteen feet thick stone walls were constructed around the fort. He named the fort Mehroob Jazeera (or Mehrusa Jazeera or the Moon Island in Arabic, also called Damda by the Portuguese).
Kashid Beach (36kms from Alibaug on Murud road):
Rameshwar temple, Chaul:
Revdanda fort was a beach facing fort built in 1558 by a Portuguese captain Soj to watch over their trading interests. It is located in lower Chaul, which one comes across on the Alibaug-Murud road (17kms away from Alibaug). During the Portuguese times it was called Santa Maria de Castelo, but the locals called it Revdanda after Revati the spouse of the Yadava king Balrama.
Revdanda-Chaul (Chenwal in Konkani language) has a history of 2000 years. Chaul (Simul,Champavati were some of its old names) was ruled in the medieval times by kings like Bhoja (12th cen) and Bimbadev (13th cen).Chaul came under Tughluq in the 14th century , the Bahamani sultans in the 15th century, Nizamshahi in 16th century, Portuguese in the 16/17th century (1505 onwards. In 1508, an combined army of Egyptian Mamluks and Gujrat sultanate defeated the Portuguese. The first Portuguese settlements started in 1521 with the permission of Nizamshah), the Marathas in the 18th century and the British in the 19th century. Chaul always remained a major trading port during the rules of all dynasties.
Portuguese inscription: Year of 1577 - symbol of Captain Alexandre D' Souza Freire - of this fortress - that made this fortification - on the beach and on the sea.
Text and photographs : Abhijit Rajadhyaksha